In an age like ours when innovations and re-adjusting in any industry or field are the order of the day, being versatile and equipped with a broad base of knowledge, high adaptability, high level of communication and language skills, are indispensable qualities for anyone to succeed in any workplace environment. Through our ever expanding programmes and curricula, the School of Humanities and Languages brings together academic excellence and global awareness, while equipping students with the skills and knowledge that are critical in becoming sophisticated global citizens in today's fast-paced, ever-evolving, complex and globalized society.

Currently, the School offers the Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Language and Liberal Studies and the Higher Diploma in Early Childhood Education.

The BA (Hons) in Language and Liberal Studies
Intersecting language, literature and the humanities, the degree offers 3 streams of concentration:

  1. Bilingual Studies
  2. Chinese and Philosophy
  3. English and Communication
Through subjects such as linguistics, communications and philosophy, students will graduate with a broad knowledge base and understanding of the world. Graduates will possess the ability to process, interpret, synthesize and evaluate information through an analytical lens; skills that are highly sought after, both in the workplace and academic settings. In this world where specialists seems to be the trend, our graduates who are "Generalists" will bring about the balance and make imperative contributions to complement the "Specialists".  Graduates can potentially work in these areas.

Higher Diploma in Early Childhood Education
The two-year programme will equip students with an in-depth understanding of the roles and responsibilities of early childhood educators. Throughout the course, students will learn to analyze the current cultural, social, political and economic factors that affects the development of early childhood education in Hong Kong. Coupled with our school's commitment to professionalism and moral ethics, graduates will be able to readily identify children's diverse needs and develop suitable strategies and approaches to their learning process.

Graduates are eligible to register as:

  1. Qualified Kindergarten Teachers (QKT)
  2. Child Care Workers (CCW)
  3. Child Care Supervisors (CCS)
  4. Special Child Care Workers (SCCW)

Alumni & Student Sharing

在這個任何行業都講求創意和靈活的世代,要在職場上成功,多才多藝、豐富知識、高適應力、以及良好溝通和語文能力是不可或缺的素質。透過開辦不同的課程,人文及語言學院結合卓越學科和全球認知,裝備學生成為擁有豐富技巧和知識的世界公民,以迎接現今迅速發展和複雜的全球化社會

人文及語言學院現開辦語文及通識榮譽文學士及幼兒教育高級文憑。

語文及通識榮譽文學士結合語文、文學及人文,並有以下三個主修學科:

  1. 雙語研究
  2. 中文及哲學
  3. 英文及傳意

透過修讀語言學、傳意和哲學等學科,畢業生將擁有廣泛知識及更了解這個世界,他們亦具備在職場和學術環境中扎根的必備技能—以批判的角度處理、分析、整合和評估資訊的能力。在這個主張培訓專才的世界,學院深信培育畢業生成為通才,他們能投身不同行業,為社會帶來平衡及作出顯著貢獻,以彌補專才的不足。

 幼兒教育高級文憑

兩年制的課程能讓學生深入了解作為幼兒教育工作者的角色和責任,以及教授學生分析現時影響香港幼兒教育發展的文化、社會、政治和經濟因素。配合學院著重專業和道德倫理的宗旨,畢業生將能辨認幼童的不同需要,從而為他們設計合適的學習策略和方法

畢業生可申請註冊成為:

  1. 合格幼稚園教師
  2. 幼兒工作員
  3. 幼兒中心主管
  4. 特殊幼兒工作員


校友分享