In answer to the ever-growing demand for professionals in the health services sector, especially registered nurses' service in public hospitals, elderly homes, community medical and rehabilitation centres, the School of Health Sciences was established in 2010.

Programme Highlight

Currently the Bachelor of Nursing Programme offered under the School has been solicited under the Government's Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions (SSSDP), students have to apply through JUPAS and will receive a subsidy of $76,800 on annual tuition fees (2021/2022 academic year), paying the net fees of $37,890  for the 2021/2022 year.

The Bachelor of Health Sciences (Honours) Programme is a part-time top-up programme for working in the healthcare field and seeking to be promoted to frontline management.

In order to prepare competent students who will provide quality patient care and services with love and contributions to the community, the School had invested heavily in providing the best teaching facilities in Hong Kong, which include the following areas:


First training school in Hong Kong to have an Infection Control Training room, which modelled after the hospital setup during SARS.


Only school to provide the Ceiling-Mounted Patient Handling System which ensures the hygiene of patients under rehabilitation will be well taken care of.

      
Only school that has the largest number (16) of Hi-tech Patient Simulator ($1M HKD each), which can simulate different patient's situations, to give students the closest possible to real life experiences of patient's physiological reactions.


In addition to the High-Tech Patient Simulator, our school also provides children and pregnant women simulators that students can learn first-hand on child care and the whole child birth process.

The School has a mandate to equip students with the updated knowledge, competent practice and skills, to help students to develop an appropriate value system for professional careers in medical and health services, and to strive for academic excellence in teaching and learning. The School is committed to providing students with a holistic education by offering a spectrum of health science-related programmes to stimulate students' intellectual growth as well as personal development through formal and informal learning experiences.

Expand

Career Prospect

Graduates of the Bachelor of Health Sciences (Honours) Programme are prepared for academic and career advancement in the healthcare field. The academic qualification equips graduates' essential skills for positions and jobs in the healthcare industry, such as Clinical Research Associate, Regulatory Affairs Executive, Clinical Application Specialist, Medical Representative, Medical Science Liaison Officer, Clinical Service Manager and Medical Affairs Specialist.

Expand

Media Coverage

The 1st graduation ceremony for the Bachelor of Nursing (Hons) programme was held on 8 June 2019. Around 120 graduates enter the health care sector and become Registered Nurses. The employment rate is 100% in which 97% of the graduates were employed by public and private hospitals.

Below are the links of news coverage (Chinese only):

Expand

Student & Alumni Sharing

Lam Hoi Ying
More

Lam Hoi Ying

Five years ago, I was confused about my future pathway. Gratefully, Caritas Institute of Higher Education offers the course of nursing which allows me have a new target. In these years, I have grown up a lot and become more certain about my career pathways.

Nursing is a dedicated professional which requires the accumulation of knowledge, skills and experiences. I have to say thank you to all the lecturers. Apart from the knowledge and skills they taught in class, they also shared their previous working experience with us. In the clinical practicum, they led us to take up the role of a nurse step by step. Without them, I would not have become an independent professional now.

社会对健康服务人才的需求与日俱增,特别于公立医院、护老院、社区护理及复康中心亦出现注册护士人手短缺的情况。有见及此,健康科学院于2010成立,并提供护理学荣誉学士健康科学荣誉学士物理治疗学荣誉理学士普通科护理学高级文凭课程。

课程介绍

学院开办的护理学荣誉学士现时是政府「指定专业/界别课程资助计划」(SSSDP)下的课程,学生须透过联招申请报读。在扣除政府每年$76,800 的学费资助后,2020/2021学年入学的学生需缴交之费为$37,890 

而健康科学荣誉学士属于兼读制衔接课程,为健康护理行业的业内人士,打好管理基础,让事业更上一层楼。

为了训练学生毕业后提供优质病人护理、以爱服务、贡献社会,学院投资购入大量优质教学设备,务求为学生模拟最真实、最贴近外界医院的学习环境。学院是第一间训练学校设有:


感染控制实习室
,模拟医院处理非典型肺炎等传染病的病房设计


天花吊机,让学生学习为行动不便的病人进行个人护理

     
最多高科技模拟病人(共16个;每个价值港币一百万元,模拟病人不同情况,让学生熟悉病人可能出现之生理反应


模拟孕妇和小童,学生从而学习照料幼童及体验分娩过程

本院致力使学员获得与时俱进的专业医护知识和技能,并帮助学员在医疗和健康服务业上建立一套正确的价值系统,促使学员追求卓越及持续的专业发展。健康科学院承诺为学员提供全面与健康科学相关的课程,培养学员成长,及透过各方面所吸收的经验帮助学员作个人发展。

展开

就业前景

本课程为毕业生的升学及就业提供更好的装备,为有意或正在投身医疗保健行业的人士提供专业知识,例如临床研究员、监管事务主任、临床应用专员、医药行销代表、医药学术主任、临床服务经理和医疗事务专员。

展开

传媒报道

CIHE护理学(荣誉)学士课程首届毕业礼已于2019年6月8日顺利举行。首批约120位学生将于今年六月毕业投身注册护士行列成为新力军。毕业生已全数就业,当中97%获公立及私立医院聘用。

以下为课程相关报道:

展开

学生及校友分享

Lam Hoi Ying
更多

Lam Hoi Ying

回想起五年前为前路感到很迷茫,彷彿是昨日的事情。感激明爱专上学院开办护理学的课程,让我有一个新的目标。这五年,是我成长最快的五年,在这里,我找到了我的方向。

护理学是一个需要全心付出的专业,除了要学习很多专业知识,更重要的是在临床实践中不断累积经验。在此要感谢老师们的付出,课堂上悉心教导我们学术知识,课后与我们分享以前的工作经验,出实习时带领我们处理一个又一个的个案,是他们循循善诱的教诲,才可以令我由一个无知的学生,成为一名真正的护士。

今日以后,我们即将踏入社会,希望可以秉承学校的宗旨,老师的教诲,尽我的能力,用心对待我的职业。